20 weeks!

Only twenty weeks to go until the mass start on Pic Blanc. Thinking about it makes me nervous and excited at the same time. This is really happening.

There’s not much else on my mind than the Megavalanche these days. Sure, work and study related things get my attention but that’s not the same. I don’t Google shipping* while I’m thinking about mountain biking. It’s not just excitement I feel though.  I feel nervous as well.  Two thousand of us are going to throw ourselves off a 3300 meter high mountain top. I’ve never done anything even remotely the same. That begs the question: am I ready for this?

I have hardly been able to train this past month. I was struck down by the flu twice and as a result of this am covered in a pile of work that needs to be cleared. Kinda makes me feel like I’m starting over again. The good news is that there are still 20 weeks left to prepare and I intend to use them wisely.

The weather is finally improving so weekly trail rides are back in the planning. You can’t see it, but that puts a big smile on my face. Tuesdays and Thursdays will be my kettle bell workout days and Wednesday and Sunday are reserved for trail rides, which will be interval sessions. It’s a lesser intense program I tried to stick with before but that above all should make it easier to stick to.

I will visit a lot of downhill tracks in the coming months. Malmedy, Willingen and Winterberg are on the planning. Crazy hard black labelled downhill tracks seem like the best way to prepare myself for what’s coming. Anyone who’d like to join and ride together is most welcome. Drop me an e-mail saying which location has your preference and we’ll arrange a date. First up is bikepark Ferme Libert in Malmedy because the German bike parks aren’t open yet. I’ll be going 8th of March!

See you all in twenty weeks!

 

2 thoughts on “20 weeks!

Leave a comment