Technical trails and freeriding in Boppard

The misses was pretty surprised when I came back from my last biking trip, and I have to admit it was a pretty big shock for me as well: no crashes. Not one. My hips and I finally have established a good relationship again.

I went for a few days riding in Boppard, where they have some great technical trails. The freeride part dominates the video a bit but that’s because I accidentally left my GoPro in the car the first day. After just having climbed 250 meters over a rocky trail with an eleven kilos weighing bike over my shoulder I really couldn’t be bothered to head back and get it.

The reason I chose to ride these trails is to work on my technique in more technical parts. Some switchbacks in this trail are super tight. I’m still not pleased with how I manage to ride them but I’ve now studied the chapter ‘Conquer Switchbacks’ in the Great MTB Bible and will go back one more time before my vacation starts to practice.

The moment of truth is now closing in and my nerves are creeping up on me. Am I ready for this? I don’t know. Seriously. I will spend the first few days in Les Deuz Alpes and decided to head to Alpe d’Huez that week to see or I can walk the track already and take some photos. It’s going to be difficult to remember all the right lines on a 30 kilometer course.

I’m swamped with work before my vacation but I will upload posts on my preparation, insurance and arm pump before I go. I’m camping the first week but hopefully I can find wifi somewhere so that I can keep you updated during my trip and the event as well.

Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Technical trails and freeriding in Boppard

Leave a comment