Time for a few changes

I’ve decided to make a few alterations to my training schedule, because sticking to my previous planned fitness schedule is pretty damn hard. 

My initial schedule was to go out and ride three times a week, at my locals trails which are cross country type trails. The idea is to use this as cardio training whilst also practicing positing and movement on my bike. Next to that I planned to do a workout routine five days a week, which consists of squads, dead lifts, push ups and core exercises. So far, I had no trouble sticking to my riding schedule, but I did have quite a bit of trouble sticking to my exercise program.

There are two reasons that made it difficult. 1) I may have been overambitious. Five times a week is a lot and being a freelancer who works irregular hours didn’t help either. It made it hard to create structure in the exercises. The second reason is that it is hard trying to train yourself without much guidance, because I didn’t know which goals to set for each week. That’s why I called in the help of an expert, Bike James. I’ve bought his kettlebell program which was recommended to me by a Dutch rider, Kusanagi (his nick name).

My new (and improved) training schedule will include this program. I will  spend three hours a week doing these exercises, on Monday (moderate), Wednesday (hard) and Friday (light). I will go out to ride my local trails twice a week, on Thursday and Sunday. Both of these sessions will be interval training.

I really hope the kettle bell program will to make the exercising part easier. Of course I cant show you the exact program (I would be messing with Bike James’ bread and butter), but I will update you on how the training is going and it’s effectiveness.

Leave a comment